Hello There, Guest! Register

Karrde's Beer Reviews #1 - Deschutes Brewery - Hop in the Dark
Surf314
Seriously, this week I'll play PS

08-21-2010, 11:35 AM

Editor's note: we being well rounded individuals (snicker) enjoy more than just games. By popular request, and popular affection of beer, I now present to you the first beer review by Karrde. If you are over 21 and can find this beer, take a sip and tell us what you think at the official beer tasting thread

[Image: deschuteshopinthedark1.jpg]

Name: Hop in the Dark Cascadian Dark Ale
Brewery: Deschutes Brewery - Bend, Oregon
ABV: 6.5%
IBU: 75
Size: 1 pint, 6 ounces
Price I Paid: $7.99 + tax (France 44th Wine & Spirits in Minneapolis, MN)
Availability: May to September
Website: http://www.deschutesbrewery.com/brews/bo...fault.aspx

Well people, here's my first beer review.  I'm still learning the basics of how this is supposed to work, but I guess I'll learn along the way.  For those who don't know me, I'm one of the many members of brb, uninstalling.  For those who know me, I promise not to let this degenerate into a bitching session.  For all I may or may not know about game design, at the least I can say that I am most definitely a seasoned beer enthusiast.  When you're ready to give up your Budweiser, pour your Ice House down the drain, and quit living the High Life, come see me.
I tend to like a stronger flavored, more full bodied brew.  Much more an ale guy than a lager guy, and I tend towards reds, IPAs, and oddball brews.  That being said, you'll see no smoke beer reviews here.  I'm never doing THAT again.  In general, the more bitter, the better.  But on to the review.  For my first time, I decided to choose a beer that I've never tasted before: Hop in the Dark, by Deshcutes Brewery.