Hello There, Guest! Register

Warhammer 40K assembly/painting/ETC tips?
Sogo
Didzo of Crafting

12-11-2011, 05:55 PM

I've recently been going to a hobbyshop on Wednesdays and playing tabletop games with them (Flames of War, Dystopian Wars, Warhammer 40K, ETC) and have decided that I'd like to get into Warhammer.

After purchasing a kit that some of the others there  said would be good to start/practice with, I opened it up at home and found it was somewhat different than the models I had made before. Anyone here play Warhammer and have any tips/tool suggestions?

[move][/move]
at0m
Official Con Soccer Mom

12-11-2011, 08:17 PM

I've been playing 40k for 16 years.

As far as newbie tools, get yourself some decent superglue and styrene cement (aka plastic glue). The GW stuff will do, but Hobby Lobby's store brand is better and less than half the price. Also get an x-acto knife with some spare blades (the scalpel-looking ones they come with are fine for a start) and a good set of Xcelite flush cut snips. Hell, PM me your address and I'll mail you some snips, I have like 4 pairs. You came in at a good time for newbies, since they're transitioning away from metal (which is more difficult to assemble, although I like the weight of it grumble grumble), and the resin and plastic they use are both pretty easy to work with with just those tools.

What army are you looking to get started with, and what kit did you get?

"If you want to be a Double E, bend over and grab your knees...."
"Atom is Sexy!" <-- Donate your own pic to the cause!
Victory needs no explanation. Defeat allows none. -Sun Tzu
(This post was last modified: 12-11-2011, 08:19 PM by at0m.)
Sogo
Didzo of Crafting

12-11-2011, 09:55 PM

(12-11-2011, 08:17 PM)at0m link Wrote: I've been playing 40k for 16 years.

Damn good advice

I've been borrowing Ork Armies until now, and am starting off off with a set of 5 Ork Nobz, probably picking up a Warboss tuesday so I don't have to borrow him anymore.