Hello There, Guest! Register

Tabletop RPGs Online
The Generic Name
BRB, Posting

12-10-2015, 01:35 PM

(11-23-2015, 10:55 AM)FlyingMongoose Wrote: I have no experience GMing anything but Fantasy AGE (which is pretty much the same as Dragon Age RPG). But I'll play anything. The problem is, if we want to interest people who have NEVER played Pen & Paper, a smaller, less complex system, would be ideal.
Which means anything in the D&D mantra is out, including 5th and pathfinder.
It leaves only a few options one of them being the AGE system, there's also a couple of others I heard of but I have to look them up.
Have you looked at 5th edition?  it is not that complex.  I think its wonderful for new and old players.  If you are dealing with new players, you need to understand that and adapt your way to that.  Be patient, and let them have fun.  Just because you only have experience in one Tabletop RPG system doesnt mean that other, more complex looking, systems are a poor choice.  Its the reason why I take notes to quickly remind me what something does if I dont think I'll remember it.  I've played 3.5, Pathfinder, Shadowrun, Fantasy Age, and Champions (Hero System).  I have found that the more freedom the game allows, the more difficult it is for new tabletop players to pick up on it.  Hell, I am actually going to be DMing a 5E module for some friends of mine and only one of them has actually played 5E before, and one has barely any experience playing tabletop games at all.