Hello There, Guest! Register

Self-Imposed Crusade to Kill Others More (SICKOmore) - Improving One's Skills
TOH
BRB, Posting

02-08-2011, 11:15 PM

Alright, so I've been playing on here for about eight months now...and in the past month or so, I think I've really been able to step up my level of play a fair bit (especially as Heavy). I've been noticing some tendencies and some things that can basically optimize my skill in TF2, and I've made some changes that have worked for the better (like dropping the Sandvich to restore health instead of eating it, little things like that).

However, I think I've hit a plateau for figuring things out on my own. You guys have been doing this way longer than I have, so I think it's finally time for me to come to you with a request for some advice on how I can improve my play. I've been playing alongside and against quite a few of you a lot lately, so maybe some of you have noticed some tendencies I have that I haven't noticed a way to improve upon (Basically, if you're killing me a ton or seeing me die a ton in a certain situation). I'm wondering what areas I might want to look into improving.

One thing to at least start on...my play as Scout. I'm definitely more of a capper than a killer when it comes to playing Scout, but I'd love to improve being able to kill some people and/or avoid dying. One of the things I'd like to do is be able to integrate a pistol more into my play. Some of you might have noticed that I like to use Bonk sometimes, but I know Bonk isn't always useful and just takes up a slot that the pistol can probably be better to use. The question is, how can I use the pistol effectively? I've used both the scattergun and FAN for a while and wound up sticking with the scattergun in the end, but how I can mix a pistol well into using a scattergun? What would be the best time to switch from one to the other? Things like that.